Society diversity

SPIE, the International Society for Optics and Photonics, announces its 2022 Society Awards

India Business WireThe awards committee of SPIE, the international optics and photonics company, announced today recipients of its prestigious annual awards. Honoring transformative advances in multiple fields – including medicine, astronomy, lithography, optical metrology, optical design and community leadership – the Society’s awards recognize technical achievement as well as committed service to SPIE and supporting its organizational mission.

This press release is multimedia. See the full version here:

Michael Berns, winner of the 2022 SPIE Gold Medal. (Photo: Business Wire)

SPIE Gold Medal: Michael Berns

In recognition of his work in bioengineering research and his distinguished career that brought together engineers, physicists, biologists and physicians to collaborate on breakthrough discoveries and innovations.

SPIE President’s Award: Tuan Vo-Dinh

In recognition of his exceptional and extensive role in leading the SPIE conference, in disparate technical areas, and for his mentorship of early investigators as well as his peers.

SPIE Directors Award: Julie Bentley

In recognition of his outstanding service to the Society in extraordinary ways, including authorship, teaching of courses, direction of the conference program, committee membership, and service on the Board of Trustees.

SPIE Mozi Award: Thomas W. Ebbesen

In recognition of his phenomenal contributions to the field of nano-optics, in particular the extraordinary optical transmission through sub-wavelength hole gratings.

SPIE Britton Chance Award in Biomedical Optics: Bruce Tromberg

In recognition of his high-impact translational research and global leadership in the development of biophotonic technologies for diagnostics and therapeutics.

SPIE Biophotonics Technology Innovator Award: Bert Müller

In recognition of his outstanding contributions to 2D and 3D imaging to address 21st century challenges including cardiovascular and neurodegenerative diseases, bioinspired dental repair, and treatment of incontinence.

SPIE Rudolf and Hilda Kingslake Prize in Optical Design: Masato Shibuya

In recognition of his significant contributions to the development of optical design through the invention of phase shift masks for photolithography and for laying the foundations of imaging theory based on plane wave expansions.

SPIE Harrison H. Barrett Award in Medical Imaging: Maryellen Giger

In recognition of her pioneering work in the fields of digital imaging, computer-assisted diagnosis, radiomics and radiogenomics.

SPIE Harold E. Edgerton Award in High Speed ​​Optics: Mona Jarrahi

In recognition of his pioneering contributions to time-domain plasmonic spectroscopy and imaging systems and their scientific and industrial applications.

SPIE Dennis Gabor Prize in Diffractive Optics: Gabriel Popescu

In recognition of his groundbreaking contributions to holography and quantitative phase imaging for biomedical applications.

SPIE George W. Goddard Award in Space and Airborne Optics: Michelle Stephens

In recognition of his technical innovation, mentorship, and outstanding leadership in pursuing fundamental space-based measurements of the Earth and Sun, while reducing technological barriers and promoting standards for the advancement of space optics and airborne.

SPIE GG Stokes Prize in Optical Polarization: Alex Vitkin

In recognition of his important contributions to tissue polarimetry, including advanced methodological developments for sensitive and robust Stokes and Mueller measurements; polarimetric calculation and analysis platforms; and biomedical applications including cardiology, regenerative medicine, glucose monitoring and breast cancer margin assessment.

SPIE Chandra S. Vikram Prize for Optical Metrology: Jürgen Czarske

In recognition of his significant contributions to computational laser metrology with paradigm shifts in fluid dynamics, inspection, aerospace, communication, and biomedicine.

SPIE Frits Zernike Award for Microlithography: Harry J. Levinson

In recognition of his outstanding achievements contributing to our fundamental understanding of advanced lithography process control, particularly in the concepts of Image-Log-Slope, mask-defect printability, and optimization of thin-film optics .

SPIE Diversity Awareness Award: Qaisar Abbas Naqvi

In recognition of his inspirational attitude and dedication to students, he helps transform the lives of women and men from traditionally under-recognized segments of society by supporting their pursuit of higher education and research in the field. optics and related fields.

SPIE Maria Goeppert-Mayer Prize in Photonics: Shin-Tson Wu

In recognition of his seminal contributions to display and photonic device technologies which have led to numerous applications.

SPIE Maiman Laser Award: Bill Krupke

In recognition of its scientific, technical and community leadership, innovation and many pioneering results in laser science and technology.

SPIE Early Career Achievement Award – Academic Goal: Bhavin Shastri

In recognition of his pioneering efforts in the field of neuromorphic photonics and his contributions to interdisciplinary research in nanophotonics, unconventional computing, and silicon photonics that have pushed the frontiers of machine learning.

SPIE Early Career Achievement Award — Industry/Government Focus: Lionel Clermont

In recognition of his significant achievements in the field of stray light control, in particular his work on the development of the ultra-fast time-of-flight imaging characterization method.

SPIE Maria J. Yzuel Educator Award: Rajpal Sirohi

In recognition of his many years of service to the field of optics through leadership, capacity building and outreach.

SPIE Aden and Marjorie Meinel Technology Achievement Award: Ge Wang

In recognition of his pioneering contributions in optical and X-ray molecular tomography, including their coupling for biomedical applications.

The full list of all SPIE awards and winners is available here.

About SPIE

SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics, brings together engineers, scientists, students and professionals to advance light-based science and technology. The Society, founded in 1955, connects and engages with our global constituency through cutting-edge conferences and exhibitions; publication of conference proceedings, books and reviews in the SPIE digital library; and career development opportunities. Over the past five years, SPIE has contributed more than $22 million to the international optical community through our advocacy and support, including scholarships, educational resources, travel grants, endowment gifts and public policy development.

SPIE, the International Society for Optics and Photonics, announces its 2022 Society Awards

SPIE, the International Society for Optics and Photonics, announces its 2022 Society Awards

SPIE, the International Society for Optics and Photonics, announces its 2022 Society Awards