Society diversity

SPIE, the International Society of Optics and Photonics, announces its 2022 Society Awards

The 21 winners represent a wide range of singular achievements in light-based science and technology

The awards committee of SPIE, the international optics and photonics company, announced today the recipients of its prestigious annual awards. Honoring transformative advancements in multiple fields – including medicine, astronomy, lithography, optical metrology, optical design, and community leadership – the Society’s awards recognize technical achievement as well as committed service to SPIE and supporting its organizational mission.

This press release features multimedia. See the full version here:

Michael Berns, winner of the 2022 SPIE Gold Medal (Photo: Business Wire)

SPIE Gold Medal: Michael Berns

In recognition of his work in bioengineering research and his distinguished career which brought together engineers, physicists, biologists and physicians to collaborate on groundbreaking discoveries and innovations.

SPIE President’s Prize: Tuan Vo-Dinh

In recognition of his exceptional and extensive role in the direction of the SPIE conference, in disparate technical fields, and for his mentorship to early researchers as well as his peers.

SPIE Directors’ Award: Julie Bentley

In recognition of his outstanding service to the Society in an extraordinary manner, including authorship, teaching courses, leading the conference program, membership on committees and serving on the Board of Directors.

SPIE Mozi Prize: Thomas W. Ebbesen

In recognition of his phenomenal contributions to the field of nano-optics, in particular the extraordinary optical transmission through subwavelength hole arrays.

SPIE Britton Chance Prize in Biomedical Optics: Bruce Tromberg

In recognition of its high impact translational research and its global leadership in the development of biophotonic technologies for diagnosis and therapy.

SPIE Biophotonics Technology Innovator Award: Bert Müller

In recognition of his distinguished contributions to 2D and 3D imaging for the challenges of the 21st century, including cardiovascular and neurodegenerative diseases, bioinspired dental repair and treatment of incontinence.

SPIE Rudolf and Hilda Kingslake Prize in optical design: Masato Shibuya

In recognition of his significant contributions to the development of optical design through the invention of phase shift masks for photolithography and for laying the groundwork for imaging theory based on plane wave expansions.

SPIE Harrison H. Barrett Prize in Medical Imaging: Maryellen Giger

In recognition of her pioneering work in the fields of digital imaging, computer-assisted diagnostics, radiomics and radiogenomics.

SPIE Harold E. Edgerton Prize in High Speed ​​Optics: Mona Jarrahi

In recognition of his pioneering contributions to time domain plasmon spectroscopy and imaging systems as well as their scientific and industrial applications.

SPIE Dennis Gabor Prize in Diffractive Optics: Gabriel Popescu

In recognition of his revolutionary contributions to holography and quantitative phase imaging for biomedical applications.

SPIE George W. Goddard Prize in Space and Airborne Optics: Michelle Stephens

In recognition of his technical innovation, mentorship and exceptional leadership in the pursuit of fundamental space measurements of the Earth and the Sun, while reducing technological barriers and promoting standards for the advancement of space optics and airborne.

SPIE GG Stokes Prize in optical polarization: Alex Vitkin

In recognition of his important contributions to tissue polarimetry, including the development of advanced methodologies for sensitive and robust Stokes and Mueller measurements; polarimetric calculation and analysis platforms; and biomedical applications, including cardiology, regenerative medicine, glucometry, and breast cancer margin assessment.

SPIE Chandra S. Vikram Prize in optical metrology: Jürgen Czarske

In recognition of his significant contributions to computational laser metrology with paradigm shifts in fluid dynamics, inspection, aerospace, communication, and biomedicine.

SPIE Frits Zernike Prize for Microlithography: Harry J. Levinson

In recognition of his outstanding achievements contributing to our fundamental understanding of the advanced control of lithography processes, particularly in the concepts of image-log-slope, mask defect printability and thin-film optics optimization .

SPIE Diversity Awareness Prize: Qaisar Abbas Naqvi

In recognition of her inspiring attitude and dedication to students, helping to transform the lives of women and men from traditionally under-recognized segments of society by supporting their pursuit of higher education and research in optics and in the related fields.

SPIE Maria Goeppert-Mayer Prize in Photonics: Shin-Tson Wu

In recognition of his fundamental contributions to display technologies and photonic devices which have led to many applications.

SPIE Maiman Laser Prize: Bill Krupke

In recognition of its scientific, technical and community leadership, its innovation and its many pioneering results in the field of science and laser technology.

SPIE Early Career Achievement Award – Academic goal: Bhavin Shastri

In recognition of his pioneering efforts in the field of neuromorphic photonics and his contributions to interdisciplinary research in nanophotonics, unconventional computing and silicon photonics that have pushed the frontiers of machine learning.

SPIE Early Career Achievement Award – Industry / Government Focus: Lionel Clermont

In recognition of his significant achievements in the field of stray light control, in particular his work on the development of the ultrafast time-of-flight imaging characterization method.

SPIE Prize Maria J. Yzuel Educator: Rajpal Sirohi

In recognition of his many years of service in the field of optics through leadership, capacity building and awareness.

SPIE Aden and Marjorie Meinel Technology Achievement Award: Ge Wang

In recognition of his pioneering contributions to X-rays and optical molecular tomography, including their coupling for biomedical applications.

The full list of all SPIE prizes and winners is available here.

About SPIE

SPIE, the international optics and photonics company, brings together engineers, scientists, students and professionals to advance light-based science and technology. The Society, founded in 1955, connects and engages with our global constituency through cutting-edge conferences and exhibitions; publication of conference proceedings, books and reviews in SPIE’s digital library; and career development opportunities. Over the past five years, SPIE has donated more than $ 22 million to the international optical community through its advocacy and support, including scholarships, educational resources, travel grants, endowment donations and the development of public policies.