Society diversity

The Leicestershire Law Society Awards are back – bigger and better

The Leicestershire Law Society’s annual awards return next month – bigger and better than before.

Returning to an in-person event for the first time since the outbreak of the pandemic, the awards ceremony will be held at Athena on Queen Street, Leicester on Friday 20 May 2022 from 7pm to 11.30pm.

With attendees from all of Leicestershire’s vibrant legal and business sectors, the evening will have a 1950s theme, live music and vibrant entertainment, and promises to be a big event.

Matthew Olner, chairman of the 700-strong Leicestershire Law Society (LLS), will also take the opportunity to highlight his chosen charity of the year, Leicester Children’s Holidays.

Matthew said: ‘This is a superb local charity that has been around for over a hundred years, providing opportunities for local children to take part in exciting and challenging adventure holidays.’

Later in the year, Matthew will take part in a sponsored skydive with others, in addition to a sponsored five-mile walk around Rutland Water, before finishing the charity fundraiser with a day of golf in September .

Matthew Olner, President of the Leicestershire Law Society

Of the upcoming awards, Matthew said: “The Leicestershire Law Society’s annual awards event celebrates legal excellence in our city and county. We have some very strong finalists this year and I wish you well. to all those who are preselected.

“The quality of the nominees for this year’s awards is a testament to the superb level of legal provision available to people and businesses in our county and beyond.

“I am so proud of the depth and diversity of the legal profession in our great country, and especially proud of the resilience and courage our legal profession has shown throughout the pandemic.”

2022 finalists

Solicitor of the Year – five years PQE+

  • Parvien Akhtar of Bright Legal Solicitors
  • Shahzad Raja of SKR Lawyers

Junior Lawyer of the Year – NQ to four PQE, ssponsored by the University of Leicester

  • Reema Patel of BP Legal
  • Harpreet Kashb of Parity Legal
  • Kayleigh Brown of Wilson Browne Solicitors

Small Law Firm of the Year (up to six partners)sponsored by KCH Garden Square

  • Josiah Hinck
  • Johnson Astills
  • Patterson Commercial Law
  • Parity Legal
  • ZMS Lawyers

Large law firm (seven or more partners), sponsored by Groupe 36

  • Smith Partnership
  • Heavyweight

Support Staff Member of the Year

  • Hira Asif of Parity Legal
  • Stan Owens of Hollingsworths Solicitors

Trainee Paralegal of the Year, sponsored by University of Montfort

  • Connie Kitchener of Affinity Law
  • Giacomo Ciccognani of Hollingsworths Solicitors

Lawyer of the year

  • Emma Burden of New Street Chambers
  • Moira Ashton-Walsh of KCH Garden Square

Rooms of the year

  • New Street Chambers
  • 36 Group
  • KCH Garden Square

To learn more or purchase tickets for the event, visit